CIA Program

Certified Internal Auditor (CIA)

The Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) designation is the only globally accepted certification for internal auditors and remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their competency and professionalism in the internal auditing field.

CIA is the most highly sought as global certification for internal auditing professionals. As The IIA’s premier designation, the CIA sets the standard for excellence within the profession.

The value of the CIA

  • A credible and trusted internal auditor.
  • A true expert who understands and can apply the International Standards for the Professional Practice of internal auditing.
  • A stronger, more competent professional who is knowledgeable in organizational governance.
  • Committed to the profession of internal auditing and equipped for career-advancing opportunities.
  • Differentiated from your peers.



Part 1 – Essentials of Internal Auditing

  • Foundations of Internal Auditing(15%)

  • Independence and Objectivity(15%)

  • Proficiency and Due Professional Care(18%)

  • Quality Assurance and Improvement Program(7%)

  • Governance, Risk Management, and Control(35%)

  • Fraud Risks(10%)

Part 2 – Practice of Internal Auditing

  • Managing the Internal Audit Activity(20%)

  • Planning the Engagement(20%)

  • Performing the Engagement(40%)

  • Communicating Engagement Results and Monitoring Progress(20%)

Part 3 – Business Knowledge for Internal Auditing

  • Business Acumen (35%)

  • Information Security(25%)

  • Information Technology(20%)

  • Financial Management(20%)